Literacy Now Communities

Table of Contents


Aiming to make BC a global leader in literacy, 2010 Legacies Now piloted the Literacy Now Communities program to work with seven communities to support and stimulate new literacy development programs at the local level. These seven communities - Campbell River, Invermere, Lillooet, Nelson, New Westminster, Prince Rupert and Smithers - were selected to reflect the geographic, ethnic, cultural and socio-economic diversity of BC.

On the heels of the successful pilots, all communities across BC were invited to participate in program in 2005. By 2010, there were 101 task groups working with more than 1,000 community partners to develop and deliver programs in more than 400 neighbourhoods and communities. These programs aimed to  improve local literacy and create a legacy of literacy learning.

The Literacy Now Communities program was supported by the Province of British Columbia.